Time To Sign Up For Summer Cooking Camp!

It happens every year.  Just as I am about to put up my cooking camp dates, they are already almost booked up! I don’t do this on purpose; it’s just that I have been so busy writing my new cookbook and my food and travel articles!  More importantly, I am still being inspired in terms of what I think we will be cooking.

I do know this much: we will definitely be doing everyone’s favorite Meringue Madness classes in celebration of my upcoming cookbook MERINGUE, which I co-authored with Linda K Jackson (Gibbs Smith, August 2012).  I’ve included the cover photo so that you can keep an eye out for it.  Just like in class, it’s full of magical meringues in the form of Pavlovas, Pies, Cookies, Marjolaines, Dacquoise, Frostings, along with Heavenly Creations such as Baked Alaska and Meringue Croquembouche.  It even has a Kids’ Chapter called “Little Clouds” that includes some amazing desserts such as S’moringues, Apple Cinnamon Nests and Death By Milk Chocolate. The photos are gorgeous and were taken by my wonderful friend Alexandra DeFurio. Check back here for book signing dates and I hope our new cookbook will find its place on your bookshelf soon!

In addition to Meringue Madness, we’ll be doing all of our favorite classes here at my Studio City-based cooking camp such as A is For Appetizer, Retro Recipes (mini-meatloaves, cherries jubilee, roast chicken, Beef Wellington, etc), Something’s Fishy (including Salt Crusted Striped Bass in a Lemon Herb Vinaigrette and a Miso-Glazed Black Cod), Egg Stravaganza, Gnocchi 101, Buckles, Cobblers and Pies, Moroccan Magic, History of Chocolate and so much more.  I’m also creating a class called Good Grains, all about cooking with grains such as farro, quinoa, couscous and various types of rice.  What else would I love to share with you?  How about… stuffed zucchini flowers with homemade pesto, vegan sliders (seriously, they are delicious), mini-caramelized tomato tarte tatins?  I don’t know about you, but I can’t wait for summer!

And of course, every Thursday is the Iron Chef contest with a secret ingredient, and every Friday is a field trip to a bakery, restaurant or local farm.  You get the idea.  So even though my daily themes aren’t up yet, I promise that we’ll be cooking up something amazing each week.  For summer cooking camp details (including cost, weeks, etc.), go to the Cooking Classes/Camps link on the left side of this page.

Leave a Reply

